The Big News

Standard

They say it’s natural for pregnant women to turn inward: to begin nurturing and nesting with every waking thought and moment.  Who am I to blow against the wind?  You haven’t heard a lot from me in the last few months because everything I write lately revolves around the biggest thing on my mind and I wasn’t ready to share it with the world until now.

I’m excited to finally announce today that I am just about 20 weeks pregnant!  (Yes I know it’s April Fools Day, but there have to be some real announcements on April 1st to perpetuate the tradition, and today happens to be the best day for us to announce it.)

Randall and I found out just before Christmas and have been adjusting our lives and our minds to the idea as we’ve shared the good news with close friends and family over the last few months.  For musicians who make their living by touring pregnancy is not always exciting news, but we couldn’t be more thrilled.  And we don’t plan to stop touring.  We will welcome this little baby into our world, making room and making time to accommodate him or her however we need to.  We also don’t plan to find out if it will be HIM or HER until we meet face to face!  The baby is due on August 20th – I’m just about halfway there!

There is a season for everything and I distantly recall my own restless, ambitious seasons of work and worry.  This is a new season and the edges of my ambition are dulled by a new and steady peace.  It feels a bit like passing through a cloud, not for the lack of vision but for the mystery of feeling surrounded by a presence, as if angels are attending me.  My womb and my heart expand to make room for a new love – a new way of loving.  “There will be time” said TS Elliot “to prepare a face to meet the faces you will meet”  There is a brand new face, not yet seen by this world in all of time and history, that I was lucky enough to catch the first fleeting glimpse of, and this new person will be entrusted to my care.

Baby's First Photo Shoot!

Baby’s First Photo Shoot!

I plan to blog more regularly now that the door is open to share what my life is like touring with a baby on the way.  I wrote a new song which I will be sharing soon as well.

About ebirdsays

Singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist for Nationally-touring band, The Ragbirds. I was born in Buffalo, NY, followed a boy to Michigan many years ago, then decided to stay. I live in Ann Arbor with my husband Randall (he plays in the band too), my daughter Aviva and our cat Bhya.

13 responses »

  1. Congratulations Erin & Randy!!!! So, tell me what colors you are going with and I will make you a blanket for the baby!!! Oh, and here’s my big news: I just accepted a position as a Tenure-track Assistant Professor of Accounting at Saginaw Valley State University. So, I am going home (and now, this isn’t April Fools either…I agree there has to be some real announcements on this day too!). I am so excited for the two of you!

  2. Congratulations!!!!!!
    I strongly recommend tour read Ina May GaskinS guide to childbirth. It is truly inspiring. If you do please let me know what you think.
    Wishing you all the best
    Mo in opelika, alabama

  3. We could not be more happy for you and Randall, You two (three) are the best and you deserve the best. With much love for the three of you and the Band. Steven & Diann Meyer

    ________________________________

  4. A BIG CONGRATS to the 3 of you, what exciting and joyous news!!! We found out we were pregnant with our 1st(nearly 2 yrs ago) just days after attending a Ragbirds show in Ky! He was lucky enough to “hear” you once more before he came into this world, and what a little drummer boy hes become since then! NOW it appears we are expecting yet AGAIN, due the beginning of October!!! We are hoping to make it to your upcoming show in Ky so that baby #2 can experience his or hers 1st Ragbirds experience as well! I highly recommend the book “Birthing from Within: An Extra-Ordinary Guide to Childbirth Preparation”. Planning a homebirth this time around and couldnt be more excited! Love to all!!!~Jess,Dave and Drezden

  5. Oh! we are so happy for you and Randall!!! Congratulations and love in preparation for the most amazing gift of your lives…….. sending love & best wishes, paul and aleriev

Leave a Reply

